all-of-me


Ascent

2001-07-12 * 1:56 p.m.



And so the roller coaster creeps up the hill, gathering momentum, tension mounting with each click and clack, the ground below becoming farther and farther away, seat belt holding me in so I don't chicken out and abandon the ride. My heart beats faster. My insides are mush. My brain is paralyzed. As I approach the top and linger, time stands still. In that brief moment I look around me. I can see for miles in any direction. I can see my past, laid out like a tiny little toy village, the details too fuzzy to make out, but colors and shapes that evoke grander scenes. I can see my future, with blue sky and tall trees, beckoning me mischievously, promisingly, silently. What I cannot see is what's just over the edge, what lies at the bottom of the plunge, or how far it goes down. I begin to close my eyes, then changing my mind, I open them wide and throw my arms up in the air, my pulse racing. I wait for the final tip forward, just inches away...

���`�.��..><((((�>�.���`�.�><((((�>���`�.��..><((((�>���`�.��..><((((�>�.���`�.��..><((((�>�.���`�.�><((((�>���`�.�

WHAT'S IN MY CD PLAYER RIGHT NOW:

LATEST SWEET THING MY SWEET THANG DID FOR ME:

WHAT I'M WEARING TODAY:

yesterday ><((((�> tomorrow