all-of-me


Changes 4 (Marriage)

Jul. 02, 2003 * 3:50 p.m.

Flotsam and I were married Memorial Day weekend, on the only day it didn't rain in two weeks, in either direction. A good sign.

I don't need any good signs, because our relationship is the good sign. Of all the changes I've been making in my life recently (see Changes 1, 2 and 3), this one was the one that brought me the most joy. That I was most sure about. That made the most sense.

At first, she was not sure she wanted to have a wedding, apart from the lifelong commitment. She can be a very private person. And being lesbians and all, it's still not done very often. But I've been married twice before, and never had a wedding (which I'd always wanted), and now that I'd found the right one, I'd be damned if I was going to blow it in the wedding department. This was my last chance to have one, and thankfully, she relented. More importantly, she got into it, found her own reasons for doing it, and we both had the happiest day of our lives.

Everything was perfect. Nothing went wrong. It was beautiful - everything a wedding should be. She's the one in ivory, I'm the one in burgundy. (You can even see part of her dragonfly tattoos on her arm if you look closely.) And because we created our ceremony from scratch (with bits and pieces borrowed and revised), it reflected who we are and what our relationship is. Everyone had a really wonderful time, and there were plenty of happy tears (started by her, of all people). We even had a slide show (that I put together) of our friends and family playing on the video screens at the reception.

Third time's a charm. Married life suits me very well, thank you. And with a love like ours, you should be jealous. And after that subsides, you should know that it doesn't matter how many times you've tried before. It's never to late to do it right. The right one's out there. We both paid our dues (incredibly high ones at that), and now is the payoff.

���`�.��..><((((�>�.���`�.�><((((�>���`�.��..><((((�>���`�.��..><((((�>�.���`�.��..><((((�>�.���`�.�><((((�>���`�.�

WHAT'S IN MY CD PLAYER RIGHT NOW:

LATEST SWEET THING MY SWEET THANG DID FOR ME:

WHAT I'M WEARING TODAY:

yesterday ><((((�> tomorrow