all-of-me


Changes 2 (Unemployed)

Jul. 02, 2003 * 2:09 p.m.

Thankfully, I am voluntarily unemployed. Yep. I quit my job. I initially got my job at the university for the free tuition. The pay sucked, the only one I really liked very much was my supervisor, and the job itself was, well, not my cup of tea. Most importantly, they did not offer same-sex benefits. If they paid me a lot more, maybe it would have made up for that. But now that my degree is finished, it's time for me to move on to bigger and better things. I've spent most of my life getting jobs that don't interest me because they just came along. The job market sucks, it's true, but I have reached the age where I need to take control of my life and do the things I really want to do. It was important to me that I make serious changes in my life, and this was a big one. I know with my vast experience and talents that I will land something sooner or later, and hopefully something that has domestic partner benefits, or pays well, or - what a concept - both!

It's been a really long time since I was unemployed. I'd forgotten how the days run together, and I kind of miss looking forward to weekends and holidays. This weekend, my woman and I are going to NYC, but the holiday weekend feels like any other, except that there will be more traffic. I find myself alternately really relaxed and enjoying the time off and really anxious about finding work and really...not bored, just a bit out-of-sorts because I don't have a routine. I always thought I was a person who didn't need or like routine, but I guess that's not true.

I'm reading a lot, and tackling some projects that have been on the back burner, like remodeling the bathroom, but I need to kick it into gear somehow - find a way to motivate myself.

My woman's a little worried about my being unemployed, but she can see this is something I need to do, and as long as I can pay rent and the bills, it's okay. I know I did the right thing because I feel like I was let out of prison. I need to revisit my priorities. It's just one step in creating who I really want to be, not just who I happen to become due to circumstances.

So, anybody need an administrative professional that's great at design, loves to work with animals, and has experience working in educational settings? : )

���`�.��..><((((�>�.���`�.�><((((�>���`�.��..><((((�>���`�.��..><((((�>�.���`�.��..><((((�>�.���`�.�><((((�>���`�.�

WHAT'S IN MY CD PLAYER RIGHT NOW:

LATEST SWEET THING MY SWEET THANG DID FOR ME:

WHAT I'M WEARING TODAY:

yesterday ><((((�> tomorrow